Ex-Players Memories

We have added TWO more great memories for Richard Budniak and Donny Mclean in the last few days. I don’t know about you but I am fascinated by stories from when Queen’s were playing against top opposition and more so by what some of our older ex-players did during the war.

So come on ex-players add your stories to our ‘Ex-Players memories’ page. Its easy to do. Just click on the ‘Ex-Players Memories’ words about this story and go to the bottom of the page and leave a reply.

About queensparkers

Administrator of Queen's Park Football Club's official blog for former players
This entry was posted in ex-player and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ex-Players Memories

  1. RONNIE ANDERSON says:

    I played Left Back for Queens 1975-1978 under Dave McParland. I have lived in Newcastle South Africa since 1982 and have returned to Scotland every 3-4 years. I tried to contact ex-players but was never successful.

    Then I went into the Queen’s Park website and contacted the secretary. I received an e-mail from Jim Nicholson only this morning. So great to hear that you guys still arrange ex-player activities. I will in Kilwinning, Scotland from the 13th -30th September 2011 and will definately try to meet up with any of the guys I played with.

    I have a pool/braai/lapa area at my home and my pride and joy is a framed team photo of my 2 years playing for the first team along with my membership cards and my club tie. Although not making the great heights of soccer my time at Queen’s was great and real character builder.

    To all the guys I played with drop me a line and I will respond. Cheers for now, Ronnie.

    • Jimmy Rooney says:

      Great to hear from you Ronnie sorry I missed you but I am now living in Portugal. We were lucky enough to play in one of Queens Parks better sides and they were a great bunch of guys.It was a great start to my 20 year career and I’ve got team mates like yourself to thank. Great to hear your doing well. All the best Ronnie cheers Jimmy Rooney

    • Jim Kane says:

      Hi Ronnie,

      Jim Kane here.
      great to hear from you. I have just discovered this site and was really pleased to see your name and also Jim Rooney and Jim Nicholson.

      We lost touch many years ago and now that I live in England I don’t get back to Kilwinning much so I miss you when your back over in Scotland. Me you and David Gillespie spent many a happy night travelling up from Ayrshire to games and training.

      I also look back fondly at my playing days. Similar to yourself I didn’t quite hit the heights I hoped for but I wouldn’t swap my time at Queens for anything.

      Drop me a line, that goes for anyone who remembers me.

      All the best Jim.

      • Jimmy Rooney says:

        Hi Jim how you doing, great to hear your well, Great days and a great team we played in. I remember the Ayrshire boys very well. Great guys and great players. We had a great back four then. Hope things are good with you Jim.I managed to play a long time in Scottish football and was fortunate enough to learn my trade with players like yourself . I now live in Portugal, my wife and I have retired early to enjoy the good life. My son is in USA doing a golf scholarship but we manage to get back home every so often. Maybe we may bump into one another at one of the Queens Park events. Either way you take Jim and all the best pal. Cheers Jimmy

      • Jim Kane says:

        Hi Jimmy, great to hear from you. You certainly did enjoy a long and successful career in the game and well deserved too. I did a quick ‘google’ and found out you played over 500 games mostly in the top leagues, well done. All those nights playing chippy in on the blaize park with guys like Jamie Paton, Bobbie Dickson and Dougie Wilkie before training were a great grounding. I hope you are enjoying life in Portugal, plenty of golf courses there for your son to fine tune his game. He must be a talented player to get a scholarship in the USA. I’m over in the Algarve in May 2012 for a weeks golf so maybe bump into you. Talking of golf I remember the Queens Park golf outings to places like Millport and Carnwath. Peter Buchanan was the man to beat in those days. I wonder if he still plays a mean game. Great to catch up Jimmy and take care. Cheers Jim.

      • RONNIE ANDERSON says:

        Hi James or Jamsey as I knew you.
        When I was back in September I had the pleasure of going back to Hampden for a day. I contacted Jimmy Nicholson and he met me at Glasgow Central. We travelled to the ground and we proceeded to walk around Lesser and then went into the supporters club where I met Less Ross and Keith who was the supporters club chairman even in our days. We then walked to the players entrance to hampden and met Bobby Cameron. Jim then gave us a guided tour of the ground which is not like we remember. I went into the change rooms and Jimmy introduced me to the players, then it was out to walk on the hallowed turf. Jim asked me to look at the electronic board behind the goals and there was my name and welcome message from all at Queens Park, well I had a lump in my throat. Next it was into the players lounge and I had a few wecoming beers. The game was about to start and I watched it with Jimmy,Bobby and Jim McAloon. Unfortunatley Queens couldn’t supply me with a win as they lost 3-1 to Alloa. At half time and after the match I met Peter Buchannan,Bobby Dickson,Eddie Hunter,Malky MacKay,Hugh McGill and J.Gardiner. After some more drinks it was off back to Jim’s house to meet up with Cathy, Jim’s wife. We enjoyed supper with Jim’s daughters in attendance and we finished the night by waking to the westend for some night caps. I stayed the night and Jim drove me back to Dreghorn the next morning. It was the hilite of my holiday and it brought back many great memories. Wish you and Davy could have been there too. James send me your e-mail address and I will chat some more. Buy for now Ronnie. ronnie.anderson@lanxess.com

Leave a Reply

